Shortlist announced for Confor Awards 2023

1 February 2023

The Confor Dinner & Awards champion the efforts of inspirational individuals and organisations going above and beyond in the forestry and wood-using industry.

At the end of 2022, we asked you to nominate colleagues and peers who deserved recognition for their work to drive the sector forward, whether that be through forward-thinking leadership, changing attitudes about the industry, innovating new ways of working, or contributing to net zero.

This shortlist of nominees showcases the breadth of skill and achievement present across the wide-reaching spectrum of the industry.

Winners will be announced at the Confor Dinner & Awards event at Surgeons Quarter, Edinburgh on 28 February. Cornwall-based designer Jamie Zennor Downes-Atkins (Zennor Made) has handcrafted awards to be presented on the night.

Stuart Goodall, Confor Chief Executive, commented: “This event has become a real highlight in the sector’s calendar and represents a chance for members of our industry to celebrate the incredible work being done across the board to further forestry and wood in the UK.

“We’ve had some outstanding nominations this year and I would like to heartily congratulate everyone who has made the shortlist.

“Opportunities like this not only allow us to recognise the achievements of our colleagues and peers, but also highlight the positive nature of modern forestry to those outside the industry. The Net Zero Award is being presented for the first time this year and speaks to how we are moving with and meeting the challenges of these times.”

In addition to the four category awards, the winner of the Confor Dedicated Service to Forestry Award will also be presented at the dinner. This title is bestowed on a Confor Member who has made an outstanding positive contribution to the forestry industry over the course of their career.

The ICF Professional Forester of the Year and the Scottish Forestry Trust 40th Anniversary Award for Education and Outreach will also be announced at the event.

Shortlisted Nominees